The Next Adventure

Fall is right around the corner. New school years are beginning here in Georgia. Teachers are reporting for duty. Our new adventure is about to start: we will be moving to Kazan, Russia, where I (Shon) will be teaching at a virtually brand-new international school.

Kazan is the capital of Tatarstan, and is known as Russia’s Third City (despite being the eighth largest in the country). It has a population which is 50/50 Christian and Muslim, and numbers over a million people. The city is a center of education and manufacturing, and is becoming increasingly well-known for hosting sporting events. 2018 will see the FIFA World Cup take place in Russia, and some of the games will be in Kazan.

For a nice, starry-eyed promotional video about the place, have a look at this video: 

I’m excited to be going to a school where the calendar is unlikely to change (short of a legitimate emergency) and where I’ll have well under 32 students in my classes. The school has a truly bilingual program, and the curriculum is modeled on the typical International Baccalaureate one, which is sensible, well-grounded, and features a number of interdisciplinary features that really make it stand out. Besides the promising work environment, I’m also happy that we’ll be in a place where there is grass which grows naturally.

The adventure begins when we soar out of Atlanta this weekend.

2 thoughts on “The Next Adventure

  1. Hi! I’ve been offered a position with ADEC and am busily getting all the paperwork authenticated…not difficult, but challenging! Question for you…you obviously opened a bank account in Al-Ain. Are you able to transfer your AED’s to an Atlanta bank to pay bills, etc.? I am planning to invest most of my salary and I THINK in order to deposit $ into my online trading platform, they have to come from my US bank. Any thoughts are very appreciated!

    I’ll be in a leadership position – I am totally looking forward to the opportunity. Having traveled to many different countries this past year, but not the UAE, I know what it’s like to feel out of place and not familiar with the customs and culture. Needless to say, I am excited about this opportunity to apply my skills in another country.

    Thank you in advance for your reply! Best of luck to you all!

    • Yes, we opened an account. Completing the paperwork for an National Bank of Abu Dhabi account was among the very first things we did upon arrival. You should have no problems. Be sure that the investment accounts you’re using are okay to use non-taxable income in, though, as, for example, IRAs are not.

Share your thoughts!

