About a Friend

If you ever opened our “About” page, you know that both Shon & I have our own personal blogs.  Mine is on LiveJournal, and I’ve had it for over 5 years now. It is amazing how many wonderful people I met and befriended by means of that blog!  Today, I want to tell you about one of them.  While it may have nothing to do with life in the UAE, please finish reading this post.

Nadia is 21 and lives in a small village in Russia.  She loves books and movies, writes a blog filled with honesty and humor, and is teaching herself English and Spanish.  She is fun, cheerful, extremely bright – and she cannot walk.

This is what she writes about herself:

“My first joint started aching when I was 5 years old.  I went to 2 different hospitals and was eventually diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis.  I was lucky to have a really good doctor, but despite her professionalism and the fact that I was hospitalized twice a year between the ages of 6 and 16, more and more of my joints became affected.  After several years, I could not run anymore, and soon after graduating high school, I could not walk either.  At this point, I can’t stand even with somebody’s help.”

Her diagnosis still stands – rheumatoid arthritis + several things on top of it.  Every single joint in her arms and legs has been affected.  She almost stopped growing, and the multiple medications she has to take are taking their toll on her inner organs, too.

The doctors in Russia do not operate patients like Nadia.  Doctors in Germany and Israel do.  Nadia found a clinic in Tel-Aviv, Israel, that read her story, looked at her x-rays, and said they will take her.  Now money is the question.  She will need 4 (four) surgeries to replace 4 joints in her legs.

Nadia says, “I really want to walk.  I want to be able to take care of myself.  I want to leave my village and start college.  I want to travel and visit all of my friends.  I understand that I am not a child anymore, I am an adult, but life is such a strange and wonderful thing…  Why shouldn’t I give it a try?”

If you can and would like to help, please do.  If you know someone who might be interested in helping, please share this story.  Your life would not turn for the worse if instead of another cup of Starbucks coffee, or a couple of doughnuts, or a glossy magazine you will send those 3, 5, 10, 15 dollars to Nadia.  Her life, however, will get a whole lot better.

I can vouch for the integrity of this person.  This is not a scam, this is someone’s life.

You can send money via PayPal to omaximova@gmail.com (if possible, please send as “personal” and in the message, please mention it is for Nadia.)  If for some reason you cannot use PayPal but would like to donate, leave me a comment and we’ll think of another way.  If you feel like sending her a postcard, a book, or some other kind of gift, please contact me as well.

If you made it to this point – thank you.  If you made it to this point and decided to help – thank you very, very much.

P.S. Nadia’s blog can be found here: http://starushkan.livejournal.com

UPDATE: Nadia’s page on Indiegogo: http://www.indiegogo.com/hope-to-walk-again

5 thoughts on “About a Friend

  1. Jenia, I went to Nadia’s site and am moved to help her somehow. Do you know anything about this site: http://www.indiegogo.com/ ? It has been recommended to me as a way to raise funds internationally for any cause. I wonder if this could work for Nadia. Why must funds to Paypal be noted as being for Nadia? Is it an account that is for other things too? E-mail my Andrew account and let’s “talk” about this. I want to help her, bless her 21-year-old-heart….. I went to her pictures and saw her sweet Russian village and her dear swollen knees, face and elbows… My heart hurts for her…Amanda

    • Tsk, tsk, tsk! I understand your concern, Sid. Nadia does have a daily updated post on her blog where she lists the amounts she received. There is an option of a bank transfer, but I, personally, know very little about how it’s done. Also, you can go with Western Union (apparently, you can do it online these days). Thanks for your interest!!

  2. Pingback: Update on Nadia | Vantage Points

Share your thoughts!

