Money Monday

Well, it’s time for Money Monday.  Yup, I figured anyone interested in traveling or working or living in Abu Dhabi is probably curious about what the proposition costs.  So here we go: today I spent more money than ever before at the Post Office.

Yup, I got my documents back from Atlanta, and turned around a put them in the mail to DC, along with a money order for $239.  The money order covers the cost of document authentication at the State Department and at the Embassy of the UAE.  It also covers a $125 fee for ProEx Delivery Corporation.  Their fee isn’t cheap, but it does expedite the whole process.  I’ll tell you more about ProEx another time.  Anyway, with priority shipping to and from DC, and the money order, I spent $251 at the Cuthbert Post Office today.

Thus far, the authentication process has cost me $30 at the Secretary of State’s office, too, plus shipping to and from Atlanta (which has to be included twice, because they sent it back once and I had to reship it–another $7) at $14, and the total comes to $295.

My next post will discuss the authentication process.  Alright, enough of Money Monday.  Sleep well.

Share your thoughts!

