The Unknowns

Even though we are trying hard to do our research before the actual move, there are still a lot of unknowns.

To begin with, we don’t even know what city we will be in.  We know it will be the Abu Dhabi Emirate, but that’s it. We have no idea whether we will be in the huge expat community of a somewhat liberal city of Abu Dhabi or in a small desert town in the Western Region.  Shon will find this out when he arrives.

Speaking of arrival, the departure date is another unknown. The contract says “August,” but, as you can imagine, there is a big difference between August 1 and August 31. What do we tell our landlord?  When do we start packing?  For how long will we have to live on one income?

Oh, and then there’s the unknown date of my departure. With the typical wait for the spouse being between 4 and 6 weeks, I am looking at leaving anytime between very late August and mid-October.  October sounds very, very far away right now.

And this is just the beginning.  We don’t know if I will be able to find a job.  We don’t know how long it will take us to get sick of falafel and hummus.  We don’t know what 130F will feel like. We definitely don’t know which of our expectations will be met, and which we will laugh at. In a way, it’s all one big Unknown.

I wonder if that’s what makes it exciting, though. I suspect that this sensation of diving into a completely different life and starting from a blank page, the temporary escape from the routine, is exactly why I’m so enthusiastic about going.

We shall see.

6 thoughts on “The Unknowns

  1. I was in your shoes last year at this time, and it can be scary. They tell you a departure date of August, but some people did not come until September. They tell you to bring enough money to live on until your first pay check, which might not come until the end of October. The whole thing is scary, but exciting! My advice, embrace the fact that you will know nothing, for sure, until it happens to you – because it always seems to be different.

    • I’m in AD and the hardest thing for me to deal with is my apartment, I’ve had a ton of issues, and unlike in the States things do not get done in a timely manner. So, there’s a lot of just being patient and realizing that nothing changes overnight.
      I know for some people their work situation is very difficult. So, learning to be flexible at school and just doing what administration asks you to do has been hard for some.
      But, overall, I love it here and I hope to stay for longer than just 2 years.

Share your thoughts!

