First Fail

Well, actually, it’s not a failure, really, it’s a minor setback.  My documents came back from the SOS in Atlanta today–and lo and behold, they didn’t need a notarized copy of my marriage certificate, they needed the original.  Lo and behold, the SOS website says as much, but I was too hurried to pay it careful enough attention.  Still, I called the SOS office to be sure I had everything done correctly before I mailed it, and I said, “I have copies of my degree, my teaching certificate, and my marriage certificate, all notarized, and a statement from the local Clerk of Court for all of them.  Does this sound right?”  The reply was, “Yes.”  So I figured I’d be good, right?  I mean, I confirmed everything with the very office I was mailing these things to.  I almost included the original marriage certificate when I mailed everything, just to be on the safe side, but then I decided against it.  Silly me.  Now I’m set back about a week. The extra week wouldn’t really matter, but Teach Away has decided to bump the “due date” for finalized documents up to May 9 (a deadline which I can’t possibly make, even if everything is expedited).  So there is a certain stress factor, but I’m determined not to worry inordinately about it.  Things will progress as quickly as possible, and that’s just the way it is.

Heck, I might just drive up there one day next week and hand-deliver everything in Atlanta.  Sure, it’ll cost me $50 in gas, but at least it’ll be done instantly and I can move on.  Or I could just pay another $7.00 and use the postal service.  Comparing numbers makes the post office look pretty good.  Yeah, I’ll probably just mail it all.

2 thoughts on “First Fail

  1. Dude, don’t trust the mail service for something so important…you’ll sleep better walking out the door with all your documents completed in your hand!

    • Heh, with work and such, I figured I’d trust it to the mail. I will let you know if things don’t come back! Then I’ll be in full-on stress-out mode.

Share your thoughts!

