Giddy

At least once a day for the last 2 weeks I’ve been asking myself, “Are you nuts?”  Truth be told, I most definitely am.  Otherwise, why would I be so excited about going to the UAE?  Not for a week, not for a month – for 2 (two) years.

I haven’t been in the United States for five years yet.  The joys of culture shock, adaptation, and acculturation are  very fresh in my memory.  The red tape is still going on.  After 4.5 years, I finally feel like an adult again with my full-time job, friends, favorite restaurants, a new set of furniture, and 2 and half dogs in the back yard.  Yet, here I am, leaving all of this behind and starting from ground zero.  Again.

What makes it curiouser, is that I am absolutely thrilled to do this.  I am memorizing the Arabic alphabet and learning to read.  I installed Arabic keyboard layout on my office computer.  Expat blogs?  Bring them on!

The thrill, the challenge, the adventure.  I am soooo ready for you!

Share your thoughts!

